This is the "Home" page of the "American History Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
North Country Community College

American History Resources   Tags: civil rights, diversity, history, history resources, war, women's rights  

This guide contains history resources both public access and available through the NCCC library
Last Updated: May 8, 2017 URL: http://nccc.libguides.com/americanhistory Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

A Primary Document of the Jim Crow South.

"At the bus station in Durham, North Carolina". 1940.   Jack Delano, photographer. FSA/OWI, Library of Congress; retrieved from Encyclopedia of American Studies, CREDO database. 

NCCC Databases to Search for American History

  • Academic Search Complete
    Search this broad and comprehensive database for a variety of document types. Tailor your search for specific periodicals like Journal of American History.
    .
  • CREDO
    Learn more about your topic, discover keywords, and decide where to take your research after finding out the basics from this reference database.
  • Military and Government Collection
    An EBSCO database, strong on primary sources and government documents
  • Newspaper Source Plus
    Repository of international newspaper articles
  • New York Times Database
    Search New York Times articles back to 1980
  • Opposing Viewpoints in Contrast
    A database that brings together sources that explore "hot button" issues of current events, in the US and the world.
  • Proquest History
    Search for primary sources, articles, and more
 

Journal of American History RSS - Most Read Articles

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

American History Books in our Library

Cover Art
The Apache Peoples - Jessica Dawn Palmer
ISBN: 9780786445516
Publication Date: 2013-08-05
History of the Apache

Cover Art
The Burglary - Betty Medsger
ISBN: 9780307962959
Publication Date: 2014-01-07
How 1970's activists exposed Edgar J. Hoover's spying on US citizens.

Cover Art
The Empire of Necessity - Greg Grandin
ISBN: 9780805094534
Publication Date: 2014-01-14
Account of an historic slave rebellion

Cover Art
Hollywood and Hitler, 1933-1939 - Thomas Doherty
ISBN: 9780231163927
Publication Date: 2013-04-02
The burgeoning Nazi movement as reflected in 1930's Hollywood films

Cover Art
Impounded - Dorothea Lange; Linda Gordon (Editor); Gary Y. Okihiro (Editor)
ISBN: 9780393060737
Publication Date: 2006-11-17
Images of Japanese internment, and the story of the same photographs, by Dorthea Lange, being censored.

Cover Art
Malcolm X - Manning Marable; G. Valmont Thomas (Read by)
ISBN: 9780670022205
Publication Date: 2011-04-04
Winner of the 2012 Pulitzer Prize, a comprehensive and faithful accounting of Malcom X's life and times

Cover Art
Photography and the American Civil War - Jeff L. Rosenheim
ISBN: 9780300191806
Publication Date: 2013-05-07
Published by the Metropolitan Museum of Art, a careful curation of Civil War photographs

Making History

What is a Historiography?  Because there are differing sources, tendencies, and biases on which history is constructed, a historiography gives a writer the opportunity to look critically at the received narrative. This critical approach attempts to create a dialogue with the various schools of thought, to refute or to champion the major recognized views on the topic.  It looks at the history of the history being explored, examining how views have changed with time.  For example, a historiography might critique a primary document arguing that black soldiers fighting in the Union Army should be segregated from and paid less than white soldiers, demonstrating this as evidence of the biases prevalent at the time.

Here are good sources for learning more about historiographies, primary and secondary documents, various approaches and tendancies, and more:

 

Historiography

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip