Last Updated: Apr 7, 2017
Interested in borrowing one of our e-readers? They can make reading ebooks more convenient and enjoyable.
All of our ebooks are available for free to NCCC students and staff. You will find our major ebook collections below and also listed under our databases. Click on the Information icon (an "i" in a blue circle) for examples of the authors or book titles you will find in each collection.
- OverDrive Ebooks and Audiobooks
Popular fiction and non-fiction--something for everyone
- Credo Reference
High-quality reference works on most major topics, including art, medicine, and literature
- EBSCO Ebook Collection
More than 10,000 full-text ebooks, with a focus on scholarly titles and an emphasis on works published by the State University of NY Press
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
Authoritative reference works, including carefully selected encyclopedias and handbooks on a wide range of subject areas
The collections below include digitized works that are in the public domain. This includes classic works that are no longer under copyright restrictions.
- Project Gutenberg
At Project Gutenberg you can download over 33,000 free ebooks to read on your PC, iPad, Kindle, Sony Reader, iPhone, Android or other ereader.
- Internet Archive
Internet Archive is a non-profit digital library offering free universal access to books, movies & music, as well as 150 billion archived web pages.
Provides free access to classic texts as well as contemporary reference works.
- Open Library
Open Library is an open, editable library catalog, building towards a web page for every book ever published.
- World Digital Library
The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.
- Girl ebooks
Nicely formatted classic ebooks by female writers such as Jane Austen, Mary Shelley, Harriet Beecher Stowe, the Brontes, Edith Wharton
More than a million free ebooks available for download
- 800+ Free ebooks compiled by Open Culture
- Literature Project
A smaller collection of classic works
- Google Books
Currently, Google Books has over 15 million searchable titles. Users are able to view some full text books depending on the publisher.
Popular fiction and non-fiction in audiobook (and ebook) formats
- Open Culture's List
A list of 900 links to free audiobooks (works of literature, including poetry and plays) compiled by OpenCulture.com
There are several ebook formats and most devices only support a number of them. Here are a few of the most popular: